The History of Château Soutard

A MANSION HOUSE OF FINEST LINEAGE

In the heart of Saint-Emilion’s limestone plateau, just a few hundred meters from the church tower in this medieval town of exceptional historical and architectural heritage, Chateau Soutard imposes its aristocratic presence. 

 

Five centuries of history

Soutard past and present

At the end of a majestic corridor of linden trees, Chateau Soutard looks resplendent with its proud 18th century façade and 16th century sandstone wings, typical of traditional Bordeaux farm buildings. This mansion house can live in complete self-sufficiency with its wash house, vegetable garden and barnyard. The farm has kept its bread oven and its pigeon loft, evidence of past privilege.

The first evidence of Soutard dates back to 1513 with the mention of Bourdieu (a Gascon estate surrounding a farm and a windmill) of Mayne de Soutard.

Jean Couture, a Saint-Emilion alderman, bought the property in 1699 and his daughter Marie built the chateau in 1741.

Their descendants made the dwelling more beautiful, devoting themselves entirely to the vines and Soutard became one of the first chateaux to plant their vines “in rows”.

In the 19th century, Jean Lavau, one of the biggest landowners in Saint-Emilion made the estate prosper, before it was handed over to Michel des Ligneris in 1919, whose descendants ran the property for almost a century.

In 2006, Chateau Soutard was acquired by La MONDIALE, part of AG2R LA MONDIALE, the number one social protection group in France and already owners of Chateau Larmande and Chateau Grand Faurie La Rose.

 

In 2009, nearby Chateau Cadet-Piola joined the estate, bringing the total area under vine to nearly 60 hectares in one single block on the Saint-Emilion plateau, 30 of which belong to Chateau Soutard. Since the 2012 classification, Cadet-Piola is an integral part of Chateau Soutard and each of their three wines, the Grand Crus Classé Soutard and Larmande, as well as the Grand Cru Grand Faurie La Rose, continue to be vinified in their own cellars.

 

Following the purchase, 

AG2R LA MONDIALE

wanted to restore greatness to the Chateau

 

 

Following the purchase, AG2R LA MONDIALE wanted to restore greatness to the Chateau. The young architect Fabien Pédelaborde was charged with leading the respectful, elegant cellar renovation project working with local tradesmen to respect the spirit of Soutard. The first phase of work covered the architecture of the wine-growing farm and the two wings, one of which would house the new vat room and the reception area.

The second phase began in 2014 to restore 18th century splendour to the living areas and the chateau foyer.

In September 2015, the doors opened to reveal the magnificent, historically respectful renovation of the mansion.

4 bedrooms, two seminar rooms, a library, reception rooms and a beautiful park allow our friends, clients and tourists to dive into the very heart of this magnificent wine estate. 

The development of wine tourism

Wine tourism
at Soutard since 2011

Visiting Chateau Soutard is to bathe in the harmony inherent in the estate and experience the French way of life for a while. Watch the sunset over Saint-Emilion while enjoying a glass of wine on the terrace, surrounded by an impressive 30-hectare vineyard.  Take your time, let the surroundings work their magic...

Since 2011, the chateau offers a range of à la carte programs, allowing visitors of every generation to experience a moment to cherish and discover this prestigious place, anchored between history and modernity.

Chateau Soutard, at the forefront of wine tourism, won the Gold - Best of Wine Tourism award in the Architecture and Landscapes category and received the National Wine Tourism Prize 2012. 

The two farm buildings, the cellar, the orangery and its decorated ceilings are open to the curious and the enthusiast alike, accompanied by a team of professionals who speak English, French, German, and Spanish.

Loading...